The P.I.’s Emerald Key

I’m almost there. Only three more blocks. I’m headed to a private investigator’s office above a restaurant. Yes, it sounds shady, but i’m desperate. Chronos has been gone.. somewhere.. for ages. We, meaning everyone of us on the planet, need for him to be found. Time is, to put it mildly, messed up. As far as i know, today is April 14, 2017. But then again, it’s possible that it’s March 64th, and who knows what year. I’m walking down NW Dilley Avenue in Portland.. west coast rendition that is, and there are some people dressed like it’s 1955. There are also those who are dressed like it’s 1928. Weird doesn’t cover it. I’m dressed in basic 2017-wear. Jeans, light sweater, walking shoes and rain jacket. It is, after all, April in Oregon.. maybe.

I’m heading to a Thai restaurant called, simply, Khon Kaen. I’ve never heard of it, though i’ve lived in Portland for over ten years. I did find one review online that gave it five stars though. I suppose it doesn’t matter. I’m not staying to eat. I’m only supposed to drop off this package to an office on the third floor of the building.  I should tell you about the package.  It’s addressed to Lena. She’s one of the three sister Fates. In the package is a letter. I don’t know what it says. The package was delivered to my apartment three days ago by UPS. I had to sign for it. I don’t think the delivery guy knows all the contents. Besides the letter.. and i can’t tell you how i know this, not yet, there’s a key. A skeleton key with a ten carat emerald on its gold handle. Somehow, it’s supposed to help the investigator find Chronos. I’m not sure how, but it doesn’t matter.. as long as he’s found soon. Time, in more ways than one, is running out.

Here it is. Khon Kaen. Looks like a great little place. Mmmm! I smell red curry. Maybe i’ll have some lunch before i head upstairs after all. I walk in the door and stop short. I was afraid of this, and i don’t want her to notice me. At a table way in the back right corner, troublemaker Eris is enjoying a martini and a plate of Mussaman curry!  I’ll not stop for lunch after all. Now.. where’s that door that leads upstairs?  …..

To Be Continued.

M. Raynes

2 thoughts on “The P.I.’s Emerald Key

Leave a Reply

