October 45th

This morning, i awoke at 5:30 to find my bedroom filled with a hyacinth scented pink haze. I breathed it in with relish. I moved over to the still lovely, warm right side of the bed, buried my face in the pillow and let the scent of Time fill me with youth and happiness. Before i went to bed last night, i was forty three, but this morning, i’m a young woman of twenty five. Who needs the Fountain of Youth when i can spend a night having amazing sex with Chronos; Time himself?  He told me he would grant me one wish, and its effect would last four days. I wished to be twenty five again, and i am. He asked me three times if was absolutely certain. I said, of course i am.  I also wished for the sex. He agreed, but that it wouldn’t last for four days.  I mean, how many women get to say they’ve had sex with Time?  And i know many women likely think Chronos is a decrepit old man. Well, he IS old. Thousands of years old. But does he look it? Hell no!  He’s 6′ 4″, has long red hair, the sexiest baby blue eyes i’ve ever seen, and an athletc body like Adonis.

I asked Chronos if he’s ready yet to return to work full time. He’s been missing, or on vacation.. people have called it many things.. for months. He said he needed a break. He had burnout and needed to get his strength back. I told him he most certainly has his strength back from what i felt last night. I’m supposed to keep our tryst a secret, because he’s planning to extend his break another couple of months. I promised i’d tell no one he was here.

Here is Portland, Oregon, by the way. I met Chronos two nights ago at the Jackman Hotel bar, the Sapphire. He was sitting alone at the bar, that is, until i sat on the stool to his left. He knew my name before i introduced myself.  We talked a lot about politics and our mutual dislike of the current President. I slept in his room that night, but nothing happened, as they say. We made plans for dinner again last night, and after dinner we came back here to my place.

Just as i walk down the hall to the shower, i hear my doorbell bring. It’s only 7:15. Who would visit this early on a Sunday morning?  I look through the peep hole and see no one.  I open the door and see a silver tray on a little table to the left that wasn’t there last night.  There’s a folded newspaper on it, plus a gift box. I unfold the newspaper first. I roll my eyes and sigh. It’s the Oregonian, and today’s date is October 45th, 1986. What kind of trick of Time is this?  Then i open the package. Inside the box is a malachite and gold ring, just my size. It’s a large, marquis shaped stone. There’s a letter with it that says, Elinor.. thanks for a wonderful night. You’re one of the most flexible, athletic human women i’ve ever met! Let’s get together again someday!  Maybe in about thirty years?  And thanks for keeping my secret! I’m on my way to La Paz. I’ve always loved it there. When four days have passed, make sure you’re home and not out in public. Time will advance very quickly!  All my lust, your Chronos.   And i think to myself.. the next time i see him, it better be worth it! Time is the biggest Trickster of all!

M. Raynes

************

4 thoughts on “October 45th

Leave a Reply

