Password

Underground passage

Not dark – but soft light within

From whence is the light?

Twelve stone steps descend

I hear music and whispers

I take the first step

I’m foolish or brave?

Is this where Resistance meets?

I reach the bottom

What is the password?

An ancient man asks me this

I guess – Light or Truth

He asks me if both?

I must choose one or other

I say Truth – he nods

I can continue

But my lamp no longer works –

He says i’ll find way

How long will i walk?

I get only smile and shrug

I take the first step

I’m foolish or brave?

I’m curious – determined

There is Light down here….

M. Raynes

3 thoughts on “Password

Leave a Reply

